• WEEK 1

News Back

South Shore Excellence Awards

UofE EA 2016-82

There was an abundance of celebration for Falmouth School students at the recent University of Exeter South Shore Excellence awards. The awards ceremony, in its fourth year, was held at the Universities Tremough Campus celebrated the achievments of the four South West Peninsula Partnership Schools: Falmouth, Helston, Mullion and Penryn. Students in Years 7, 9, 11 and in some cases Year 13, were those eligible for awards on the evening.

Students from each of the four schools were recognised in the fields of; Artistic Excellence, Academic Excellence, Positive Contributions and Sporting Excellence. Students were treated to a glitzy reception including refreshments, whilst they posed for pictures with their school friends. Each school put on an excellent performance for the audience, with Falmouth School Head Boy and Deputy Head Boy duo Tadgh Cullen and Josh Talbot, delivering a superb acted piece.

First, were the awards for Artistic Excellence. Louie Draycott (Year 7) was celebrated for his excellent trumpet skills, Will Daniel and Caitlin Noble (both Year 9) for their musical excellence. Abiah Wyatt and Tadgh Cullen (both Year 11) were also acknowledged for music and an excellent lead performance in the school play respectively. Falmouth College student Richard Howard was also honored for his lead role in the school play.

Next up, in the Academic Excellence category Kiera Wright achieved the highest attainment score in Year 7, with Year 9 students Ben Pellow and Niamh Miller also achieving high attainment scores. Year 11 pupils Minnie Harrop and Daniel Morgan were recognised for outstanding attainment across the curriculum in Maths and History respectively, with College pupil Gareth Willetts picking up an award for outstanding AS Level grades.

In the evening’s penultimate category Abigail Burley (Year 7) was the first recipient of the Positive Contribution award for always going above and beyond. Year 9 students Will Daniell and Hermione Brown were awarded for fantastic representation of the school and superb leadership. Josh Talbot and Emma Duncan from Year 11, were rewarded for excellent commitment and leadership. Freya Tuffery (Falmouth College) rounded off the category after being recognised as an outstanding College President.

The final category of the night, was for Sporting Excellence, with Year 7 student Isabel Wicks first to collect her honour for representing the school in various sports to a very high standard. Hermione Brown (Year 9) was nominated for her regional Netball selection and James Godwin for his contribution to Table Tennis (also Year 9). Cormac Miller and Dominique Williams (Year 11) were recognised for county Badminton representation and commitment to Table Tennis and Netball respectively, with Falmouth College student Ashley Robinson rounding off a fantastic evening for his devotion to sports coaching and leadership role.

Headteacher at Falmouth School Brett Miners, was delighted to see so many students honoured. “The school is delighted to continue the partnership with the University of Exeter and their annual Excellence Awards. This is now the 4th year that these annual awards have been organised by the University. The awards celebrate the work of our students across a range of different areas and we delighted to see students and families getting the recognition for their efforts. On the evening we also have the opportunity to celebrate the achievements and talents of students who perform to represent our school. Well done and congratulations to all of the students involved.”

Posted on: 28/04/16

Head of School's Blog

Previous Next
View All News